Expansion

I jumped the nest today.
On the way down,
I found all that previously held me,
tightly and safely,
surrounding my fall.
I saw the branches of trees
wrapped in bark;
the way they used to wrap around me…
I reminisced in the blurry greenery,
breathed in the pine balm
and swiftly fell

I jumped the nest today.
Wings extended, tips
touching all that makes one’s future.
Dropping into the weft of the forest,
my feathers shuttling the wild
and weaving liberty…
I learned flying was always
my purpose.

One thought on “Expansion

Leave a Reply

