The Fool

Baby,

I’m comin’ up.

I don’t think you know it

but I’ve been laying low

down,

in places that felt solid

but

once the rains fell hard

I found myself

stuck

in the sinking feeling –

I am not where I belong.

Crawling for so long

made me think

I covered distance

it was only baby steps though.

Baby,

here I come.

The ground here is high

above

where you used to be

back when you were

everything

to me.

Back when we were down

low down

and dirty

seems that once

I had to climb above

I could.

Now I stand tall,

comin’ up

on all I have left behind

standing strong

to face the place

where

my perspective had to change.

Growth

has set me free

Again I step into the mud

but I am not sinking.

I am solidly grounded

inside of me.

Leave a Reply

