Brigid

I never fell
into the well,
I simply awoke to find myself there.
A tunnel of stars,
my hand on my heart,
her arms holding me tight.

We swayed

away submerged in dreams
little fish
in an ocean
of possibility

three feet deep

twenty feet down

drowned in love, overwhelmed

alive.

Together we cried
so many tears
one for every star.

I sobbed

my way to the surface

each tear rising me up
relieving my heart
filling the well
we: buoyed by love, and anchored by shame
Freedom
means letting go

so she did.

Leave a Reply

